I’m slacking. Sorry. I guess I’ll give you chocolate cake.

Basically, I think about posting every night, and when I get home, I forget to do it. I guess I’m still trying to organize my life. I was productive last week, at least! I got a whole meal’s worth of cooking done for my book…which is awesome! I have some tweaking to do, but I think it turned out just fine.

Since I made you wait entirely too long, I will thank you with a delicious chocolate cake recipe. It has thin, dense, chocolatey layers, and a truly delicious frosting. And I call it…

The Devil Drinks Baileys

Cake Ingredients:
1/2 lb (2 sticks) butter
2 tbs sour cream
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 cups cake flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup water

Bailey’s Buttercream Frosting Ingredients:
5 tbs flour
1/2 cup Bailey’s Irish Creme
1/2 cup milk
1 stick butter
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup shortening
2 tsp vanilla
Dash of salt

1.) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2.) Combine flour, cocoa and salt. Set aside.
3.) Cream the butter with the sour cream. Add in eggs one at a time.
4.) Mix the vanilla and sugar in. Beat until creamy.
5.) Gradually mix in the flour, cocoa, and salt mixture.
6.) Stir in the water.
7.) Divide batter into two greased and floured 8 inch round cake pans. Bake for 22-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool on wire racks.

While your cake is baking, start the frosting:

1.) Combine flour, Bailey’s Irish Cream, and milk in a small saucepan. I find that it is best to add the liquids gradually, so that the flour does not clump together. Whisk over medium heat until thick enough to come out of the pot without leaving residue.
2.) Cool mixture in the refrigerator for at least an hour, maybe two. It should not be any warmer than room temperature.
3.) Once the mixture has completely cooled, cream the butter, sugar, and shortening until thoroughly mixed.
4.) Add flour/Bailey’s/milk mixture, vanilla and salt. Mix on medium for 10 minutes.

Now you can frost your cake and serve. I like to serve mine chilled, but it’s fine at any temperature.

Leave a Reply

